There are a large number of species of inland and marine fish. These species are grouped into Following types-----

        Classification of Inland Fish Species            

1.Indian Major Carps: Catla, Rohu, Mrigal, Calbasu

2.Other freshwater fish: Silver carp, Grass carp, Common carp, Murrels &  Hilsa (inland).

3.Prawn/Shrimp: Penaeid shrimp production.

        Classification of Marine Fish Species          

1.PELAGIC FISH HIGH VALUE (PHV):  Seerfish, Oceanic tunas (yellowfin tuna, skipjack tuna), Large carangids (Caranx sp.), Pomfrets, Pelagic sharks, Mullets.

2.PELAGIC FISH LOW VALUE (PLV): Sardines, Mackerel, Anchovies, Bombay duck, Coastal tunas, Scads, Horse mackerel, Barracudas.

3.DEMERSAL FISH High Value (DHV): Rock cods, Snappers, Lethrinids, Big-jawed jumper (Lactarius), Threadfins (Polynemids).

4.DEMERSAL FISH LOW VALUE (DLV): Rays, Silverbellies, Lizard fish, Catfish, Goat fish, Nemipterids, Soles.

5.CRUSTACEANS HIGH VALUE : Shrimps, Lobsters.

MOLLUSCS  and others: Cephalopods (squids, cuttlefish and octopus), Mussels, oysters, Non penaeid prawns, etc.

Next Post »